MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 15 REGULAR MEETING MARCH 20, 2024 6:00 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER

The Board of Education Community Unit No. 15, Beardstown, IL was called to order on March 20, 2024 by President Jimmy Hymes at 6:00 p.m. in Beardstown Middle/High library 500 East 15th Street, Beardstown, IL. Pledge of allegiance. Brenda Algandar called the roll with the following members present: Jared Soer, Amy Sommers, Joe Engelbrecht, Brenda Algandar, Dan McClenning and Jimmy Hymes. Jon Stock was absent. Also in attendance: Brent O'Daniell and Kelly Herter.

On a motion by McClenning, second by Algandar to approve the presented agenda. Roll call: Soeryes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

Good of the District- Thank you from Barb Mason's family and Jeanette Harbin's family.

Public Comments-None

Committee Meeting-Brenda Algandar was appointed to the Rural Education Advisory Council. February 27th was the first meeting and will meet four times a year. Goal is to reach the legislation as well as the ISBE on behalf of the rural areas.

Administrator & Athletic Director Reports-None

Gard and Pre-K Administration gave a presentation on Gard and Pre-K areas of planning and data.

District Maintenance Plan-Mr. O'Daniell handed out a five year plan for maintenance issues.

School Calendar-Mr. O'Daniell presented the 2024-2025 School calendar for approval.

Early Release for Professional Learning Communities-Mr. O'Daniell gave a presentation on the concept of Early Release for Professional Learning Communities.

A. Consent Agenda Approval:

- 1. Regular Meeting Minutes-February 21, 2024
- 2. Bills and Payroll
- 3. Treasurer's Report
- 4. Investment, Loan, and Transfer
- Recommendation to Accept Donations: Key Club-Kiwanis-\$1,365.00 Jr. /Sr. High School-Tracy Family Foundation-\$3,000.00
 Overnight/Out of State Trip:
- Art Club-Six Flags, Eureka, MO, April 13, 2004

On a motion by Soer, second by Algandar to approve consent agenda. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

ACTION ITEMS

On a motion by McClenning, second by Soer to approve the 2024-2025 School Calendar. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

On a motion by Algandar, second by Engelbrecht to approve the District Food Service position. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

On a motion by McClenning, second by Soer to approve change order from R.D. Lawrence for \$436,413.13. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

On a motion by Sommers, second by Algandar to enter closed session dealing with Personnel and collective bargaining. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes. Time 7:04p.m.

On a motion by McClenning second by Sommers to enter regular session. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes. Time 7:59 p.m.

PERSONNEL

On a motion by Algandar, second by McClenning to hire the following: John Lipcamon-HS Science Teacher; Georgianna Sides-After School Tutoring Paraprofessional; Julie Towery-District Food Service Director; and Trevor Binkley-BKB-Boys-Freshman Coach. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

On a motion by McClenning, second by Sommers to hire Frank Shaw as Curriculum Director. Roll call: Soer-abstain; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

On a motion by Sommers, second by Engelbrecht to approve the following retirements: Jacqueline Kelly-After the 2027-2028 school year and Brad Allen-After the 2026-2027 school year effective 2/15/23. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

The board recognizes the following resignations: Lori Young-Gard and Pre-K Principal; Laura Winkelmann-Special Education Teacher; Rebecca Parker-Elementary Teacher; Angela Schwalb-JH Student Council; and Trevor Binkley-8th Grade Boys Basketball Coach.

On a motion by Algandar, second by McClenning to approve the following Non-BEA Contracts- Chad Beam; Crystal Bell; Jim Childers; Jessica DeWitt; Kelly Herter; Sharon Johnson; Bill Liddell; Wendy McClenning; Tammee Petersen; Josh Sorrells; Nathan Theis; Amanda Wellenkamp; and Denise Wittler. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

On a motion by Soer, second by Algandar to approve honorably discharging the following full time subs: Lisa Buhlig, Hannah Commins, Lori Deacon, Davis Erickson, Brooke Ford, Scott Hamilton, Lilly Garcia, Adriana Icenogle, Joe Hall, Jaume Llordes, Jennifer Martinez, Kathy Pate, Cameron Seward, Brooke Thurman, Karina Trujillo, Chuck West, and Landon Wink. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.

Discussion-Finance Committee Chair.

ADJOURN:

On a motion by Soer, second by Algandar to adjourn. Roll call: Soer-yes; Sommers-yes; Engelbrecht-yes; Algandar-yes; McClenning-yes; and Hymes-yes.Time8:06 p.m.